Life In Progress

I will not confuse my career with my life.

When in doubt

2 Comments

Making everyone happy is nearly impossible; that’s a well-known fact. But lately, it has seemed even less likely that I will make myself happy. I feel fussy. I blurt out hurtful words, then apologize. My rhythm feels slightly off. Stuff goes wrong (like it does for everyone else, I know…) and I could just use a break. I want to feel at ease, graceful. Cooperating with gravity instead of fighting every step of the day.

An event that occurred today gave me such a strong rush of frustration from head to toe that I knew that if I were successful in communicating how knotted up I felt inside, I would be forever banished from polite society. My reaction gave me a sensory memory of being a small child not getting her way. I recalled the above snapshot of me as a toddler and searched my hard drive for it — voila! Yep, the look on my face in that photo about sums it up for how I felt at one point a few hours ago.

The younger me in the photo was probably just thirsty. Maybe it was getting close to nap time or I might simply have needed to pee. Certainly nothing earth-shattering was rocking my world — then, or this afternoon. My experience today was one more display in a line of lessons illustrating why I should choose my reactions maturely, more carefully. True, I can’t control, (nor should I try,) what makes its way into my consciousness. I need to apply my meditation experience more consciously in my off-the-yoga-mat life: increase my ability in social settings to merely witness thoughts and emotions without judgement. In other words, Rebecca, when in doubt, just keep your mouth shut.

Author: Rebecca Reinhart

Artist, graphic designer, yoga teacher, goldsmith, dancer, seeker. I strive for a balanced state of sustained exploration and nearly constant reinvention.

2 thoughts on “When in doubt

  1. A bit of perspective about the picture – it was taken on one of the many Sunday afternoons we spent at twin lakes visiting the grandparents. You can just see the lake to the left. As I remember, Teddy was going out in the boat to fish with either his dad or granddad (can’t rememebr which) and you wanted to go too. Nasty mommy took your “But I want to go too” picture.

Leave a Reply

